The Vice Admiral Emory S. "Jerry" Land Medal

Outstanding Accomplishment in the Marine Field

Joseph H. Comer IIIJoseph H. Comer III
Maritime Solutions South LLC

Joe Comer has more than forty years of experience in the marine industry.  He now consults on a variety of topics from contracts and design, to ship manufacturing processes.  Joe graduated from the University of Michigan with a Bachelor of Science in Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering.  After graduation, Joe worked for Jeffboat, Bender Shipyard, Halter and Alabama Shipyard (at all but Jeffboat reaching the position of Vice President of Engineering) and now Ship Architects, Inc.  A noted leader in initiating culture changes in shipyard planning and engineering to migrate from ‘boat building’ to “vessel manufacturing”; he has traveled extensively to foreign shipyards in Europe and Asia to learn and transfer ship manufacturing knowledge to US shipbuilding.  Lead the development of engineering and planning processes focused on the tools needed to integrate the material, drawings and work orders with the interim products being built at each work station.  Since 2006 until retirement in 2018, he has been the senior principal for Ship Architects, Inc. where in addition to a talented staff of about 15 engineers, he has created a virtual support team to handle any size job such as a research vessel, passenger sailing ship conversion, new vessel proposals, new vessel designs (most recently a 15,000 hp ATB Tug) and many production designs for a manufacturing style of construction.  Joe is the immediate Past -President of SNAME where he is a Life Fellow.

Established by the Executive Committee in 1952.

The award will be for "Outstanding Accomplishment in the Marine Field." The title will be "The Vice Admiral ‘Jerry’ Land Medal." The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze, hexagonal in shape, measuring 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) from the top to bottom across the points of the hexagon, the obverse side showing a likeness of Admiral Land and the reverse side carrying an inscription of the award. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society. The proposal for award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of SNAME. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of SNAME may arrange. The medal may be awarded annually but not more often.

Medal and Awards Nomination Form

Land Medalists

2018     Joseph H. Comer III

2016     Mr. William L. Hurley, Jr.

2015      Donald T. "Boysie" Bollinger

2014      David R. Rathburn

2013      Christopher J. Wiernicki

2012      Frederick J. Harris

2011      Stephen M. Payne

2010      Joseph J. Cuneo

2009      Robert D. Somerville

2008      Robert D. Tagg

2007      Bruce S. Rosenblatt

2006      Peter G. Noble

2005      Thomas P. Mackey

2004      Robert E. Kramek

2003      Richard H. Vortmann

2002      William O. Gray

2001      William duBarry Thomas

2000      Charles R. Cushing

1999      William A. O'Neil

1998      David A. O'Neil

1997      James C. Card

1996      Robert W. Schaffran

1995      Arthur J. Haskell

1994      Norman W. Lemley

1993      Perry W. Nelson

1992      Edward J. Campbell

1991      Robert G. Mende

1990      J. William Kime

1989      Ronald K. Kiss

1988      Stanley G. Stiansen

1987      Leslie A. Harlander

1986      C.L. French

1985      Thomas B. Crowley

1984      Lester Rosenblatt

1983      Edwin Murray Hood

1982      Robert I. Price

1981      Ellsworth L. Peterson

1980      P. Takis Veliotis

1979      A. Dudley Haff

1978      William M. Benkert

1977      E. Scott Dillon

1976      Robert J. Blackwell

1975      John V. Banks*

1974      Helen Delich Bentley

1973      James F. Goodrich

1972      Andrew E. Gibson

1971      Daniel D. Strohmeier

1970      Andrew Neilson

1969      Ralph K. James

1968      Donald A. Holden

1967      James J. Henry

1966      John T. Gilbride

1965      Albert G. Mumma

1964      Richard Lowery

1963      Wilbur N. Landers

1962      Monro B. Lanier

1961      Solon B. Turman

1960      John M. Willis

1959      Richard L. Burke

1958      William E. Blewett, Jr.

1957      Arthur B. Homer

1956      John M. Franklin

1955      Walter L. Green

1954      John B. Woodward, Jr.

1953      H. Gerrish Smith

1952      Emory Scott Land