Skip to main content

The ABS Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize


Best Paper Contributed to the Annual Meeting and Appearing in SNAME's Transactions
Bryan R. Emond


Bryan R. Emond

for his paper
"Human Factors in the Decision to Evacuate the Costa Concordia and Similar Maritime Incidents"



  • About The ABS-Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize
  • Linnard Prize Recipients

About The ABS-Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize

The American Bureau of Shipping — Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize is for the "Best Paper Contributed to the SNAME Maritime Convention (SMC) formerly known as the Annual Meeting and appearing in SNAME's Transactions".

Established in 1937 as the Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize, in 1993 it was renamed the American Bureau of Shipping—Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize by action of the Executive Committee and will henceforth be sponsored by the American Bureau of Shipping. The title of the prize is "American Bureau of Shipping — Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize". The prize consists of an engrossed, illuminated, and suitably framed certificate.

Eligibility for the prize need not be limited to membership in SNAME. In the case of co-authors, each receives an award. The selection of the nominee for the prize shall be made by the Awards Committee of SNAME. The Awards Committee will consult the SMC Papers Committee. The nomination will require a two-thirds vote of the Awards Committee. Announcement and notification of the award will be made upon approval of the Awards Committee. The prize will be presented with suitable ceremonies at such time as the President of SNAME may arrange. The prize may be awarded annually.