Skip to main content

2020 Winners

Congratulations to our 2020 Medalists and Awardees!

The Vice Admiral Emory S. ‘Jerry’ Land Medal


Michael W. Toner
  General Dynamics (Ret)

The William H. Webb Medal


Prof. Brian Veitch
Memorial University



The Dr. Kenneth S. M. Davidson Medal


Prof. Kostas J. Spyrou
National Technical University of Athens

The Francis T. Bowles Medal


Brad Lorant
General Dynamics NASSCO


From left to right: Dominique Roddier, Christian A. Cermelli, and Alexia Aubault
Rick S. Spaulding | Newport News Shipbuilding
From left to right: Richard D’Souza, Shiladitya Basu, Tirtharaj Bhaumik, and Malcolm Sharples

for their paper
"The Semisubmersible Floating Production System: A 25-Year Technical and Historic Retrospective"


Vladimir Shigunov

for his paper
"Assessment of Maneuverability in Waves"
Journal of Ship Research, June 2019




Mr. Lampros Nikolopoulos and Dr. Evangelos Boulougouris

for their paper
"A Study on the Statistical Calibration of the Holtrop and Mennen Approximate Power Prediction Method for Full Hull Form, Low Froude Number Vessels"
Journal of Ship Production and Design, February 2019


Yu-Ping Yang, T.D. Huang, Harry J Rucker,  Charles R Fisher, Wei Zhang, Michael Harbison, Steven T Scholler, Jennifer Semple, and Randy Dull

for their paper
"Weld Residual Stress Measurement Using Portable XRD Equipment in a Shipyard Environment"
Journal of Ship Production and Design, August 2019

From left to right: T. D. Huang, Yu-Ping Yang, Steve Scholler, Jim Cunard, and Randy Johnson

for their paper
"Integrated Computational Materials Engineering (ICME) Modeling in Aircraft Tie-Down Design for Production Improvement"

         Rodrigo Perez Fernandez  |  Universidad Politécnica de Madrid







Juan Antonio Perez Socorro  |  Universidad Politécnica de Madrid         

Fall Cycle Fellows

Prof. David Andrews  |  University College London  |  Western Europe
Alexia Aubault  |  Ocergy  |  Northern California
Arun S. Duggal  |  SOFEC, Inc.  |  Texas
Jerry Ng Kok Loon  |  BOS (Global)  |  International (Singapore)
Ajith P J  |  ARIES MARINE  |  UAE
Zhiyong Yang  |  7C Engineering LLC  |  Texas

Spring Cycle Fellows

John V. Amy Jr.  |  Naval Surface Warfare Center Philadelphia  |  Chesapeake
Benedict Capuco  |  Gibbs & Cox, Inc.  |  Chesapeake
Dr. Mohamed A. Gomaa  |  Go Marine Services LLC  |  U.A.E.
Prof. Ismail H. Helvacioglu  |  Istanbul Technical University  |  International (Turkey)
Hyun Soo Kim  |  Inha Technical College   |  International (S. Korea)
Yonghwan Kim  |  Seoul National University  |  International (S. Korea)
Hans Friedrich Muhlert  |  Robert Allan Ltd.  |  Pacific Northwest
Glenn E. Walters  |  Walters Marine Engineering and Consulting Inc.  |  Eastern Canadian

Graduate Paper Honor Prize

Rebecca Thistle and Brian Veitch  |  Memorial University of Newfoundland
for their paper "An Evidence-Based Method of Training to Targeted Levels of Performance"


Graduate Paper Award

From left to right: M. Javad Javaherian, Christine Gilbert, and Zhongshu Ren  |  Virginia Tech
for their paper "Flow Visualization, Hydrodynamics, and Structural Response of a Flexible Wedge in Water Entry Experiments"


Undergraduate Paper Honor Prize
K. Dionysiou_new


Kritonas Dionysiou  |  University of Strathclyde
         for his paper  "Analysis of Safety Implications for The Power Plant Auxiliary Systems of Cruise Ships"

Undergraduate Paper Award


Jessica M. Puodziunas and J. Ryan Somero  | Viriginia Tech 
for their paper "Predicting Ship Maneuvering through Machine Learning"


Frederick H. Ashcroft  |  SNAME

For his dedicated service and leadership as Functional Vice-President of Technical and Research

RADM Tom Eccles, USN (Ret.)  |  Trident Maritime Systems, LLC

For his dedicated service and leadership as Audit Committee Chairman

Dr. Chris B. McKesson  |  Retired

In appreciation for serving as Chairman of the SNAME Maritime Convention 2019




Prof. Eric G. Paterson  |  Virginia Tech

In appreciation for serving as Chairman of the Journal of Ship Research (JSR) Committee

Paul J. Roden  | Fairbanks Morse Engine

In appreciation for serving as SNAME delegate on ABET Board

1st Place (Tie)

From left to right: Brandon Hyner, Tyler James, Elizabeth Ann Millicker, Samuel Perez, and Arina Suprunova  |  SUNY Maritime College
Advisor: Prof. Charles J. Munsch

for their project 
"Roll-On Roll-Off Pure Car Carrier"


1st Place (Tie)

From left to right: Alexander Bidwell, Oscar Como, Luke Herbermann, and Benjamin Hunt  |  Webb Institute
Advisor: Prof. Bradley D. M. Golden 

for their project 
"4200 Cubic  Meter LNG Bunkering Vessel Concept Design"


3rd Place

From left to right: Zachary Peter Zachary, Ahmed Mohamed Mohamed Ahmed, Omnia El-Lakany, Mahmoud Mohamed Gomaa, Nada Gamal Abdelsamad, and Karim Sabry Moursy  |  Alexandria University
Advisors: Prof. Mohamed Morsy El-Gohary and Prof. Heba Wael Leheta 

"Multipurpose Offshore Supply Vessel (OSV) for Mediterranean Sea Operations"

Glenn Walters  |  Walters Marine Engineering and Consulting Ltd