SNAME Staff

SNAME
99 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 310
Alexandria, VA  22314
USA
Telephone +1-703-997-6701
Fax +1-703-997-6702

SNAME Europe Office
c/o ELKCO Marine Consultants
61, Poseidonos Avenue
Paleo Faliro, 175 62
Attica, Greece

Telephone: +30 210 452 8205
Fax: +30 210 452 8202

Gene Sanders, Executive Director

Phone: 703-997-6704

Email: gsanders@sname.org

Gene Sanders

Gene's skill set is in Marketing, Sales, Business Development, Content Creation and Management, Marketing, Events, and Communications. He's used to operating on large scale projects such as his plastics show which drew over 70,000 buyers and included over 1.1 million net square feet of exhibit space. Gene is the only two-time winner of the Show Manager of the Year award for trade shows over 200,000 square feet.

Gene’s alma mater is St. Mary’s College of Maryland, proud owner of over a dozen NCAA Division I Am sailing championships.  He played basketball, football, and baseball in college.  He was the Vice President of the Northern Virginia Catholic Youth Organization, and coaches competitive swimming. Gene has three children, and lives in Falls Church, VA, and is a master at bad golf!

Val Hutnan, Director of Marketing and Communications

Phone: 703-997-6709
Email:
 vhutnan@sname.org


Sofia Iliogrammenou, Director of Regional Member Services

Phone: 0030 210 4528205
Email: siliogrammenou@sname.org 

Sofia_SMC16.jpg
Responsibilities:

  • Recruits and retains membership in the region of Europe and Middle East
  • Supports section leadership and members in a professional and timely manner in the region
  • Identifies opportunities and addresses challenges in the region
  • Point of contact in Europe and Middle East
  • Supports SNAME events and plans SNAME participation in international events in the region
  • Coordinates the Technical Program of SNAME Maritime Convention 
  • Staff liaison to the Scholarships Committee
  • Point of contact outside of SNAME Headquarters working hours

Katherine Hartness, Director of Events
Phone: 703-997-6710
Email:khartness@sname.org




Kathy comes to us as an experienced and detail-oriented events director with nearly 20 years of successful event management across a variety of industries in engaging large and small scale environments.  Most recently with Clarion Events and the NAB Show, she has run events for anywhere from 10 to 100,000 attendees. Kathy is Certified in Exposition Management (CEM) and truly enjoys her role in bringing people together for face-to-face meetings.  Originally from the DC area, she earned her degree at the University of Maryland and currently resides in Falls Church, VA.


Michael D. Taylor, Director of Global Outreach and Strategic Initiatives

Phone: 703-997-6706
Email:mtaylor@sname.org


Michael Taylor is Director, Global Outreach and Strategic Initiatives at the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME). Prior to joining SNAME, Mr. Taylor was President & CEO of MDT World Consulting.  MDT World Consulting assisted both domestic and international for-profit and non-profit clients in government relations, public affairs, sustainability, business development, market entry, trade policy and services, regulatory issues, strategic communications, and issues and reputation management. Before his recent time consulting, he was Vice President for International Affairs and Trade at the Plastics Industry Association (PLASTICS). Prior to PLASTICS, Mr. Taylor was Director, Europe and Multilateral Programs of the Global Intellectual Property Center (GIPC) at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. 

He is as an adjunct professor at Trinity Washington University in Washington, DC lecturing on international affairs and political science.  Mr. Taylor has taught undergraduate and graduate courses in American politics, comparative politics, international relations, political economy, and research methods at various universities in the Washington DC metropolitan area for almost twenty-five years. He received his B.A. in International Affairs from the Elliott School of International Affairs at the George Washington University, and his M.A. in World Politics from the Catholic University of America.

    Frederick H. (Rick) Ashcroft, Director of Technology and Education
    Phone: 760-519-7829
    Email: rashcroft@sname.org

    Michael Ashman, Director of Finance
    Phone: 703-997-6715
    Email: mashman@sname.org

    Eric Hatch, Sales Manager
    Phone: 240-565-1557
    Email: ehatch@sname.org

    Kara Caiazzo, Manager, Membership Programs
    Phone: 703-997-6703
    Email: karac@sname.org



    Brenda Zelada, Events Coordinator
    Phone: 703-997-6705
    Email: bzelada@sname.org


    Brenda_Zelada


      Brian Clark, Digital Asset Coordinator
      Phone: 703-997-6713
      Email: bclark@sname.org



        Melanie Michaud, Affiliate Program Coordinator
        Phone: 843-450-9051
        Email: mmichaud@sname.org



          A. Thais De Oliveira, Marketing and Social Media Coordinator
          Phone: 703-997-6711
          Email: thaisd@sname.org



            Alan Rowen, PE CE Course Evaluator and Coordinator
            Phone: 201-499-5062
            Email: arowen@sname.org










            Responsibilities:
            • Evaluator for papers, presentations, and courses submitted for PE Continuing Education accreditation.
            • Selects books for review and assigns reviewers

            Doug Kelly, Editor - mt Magazine
            Phone: 919-552-3995
            Email: dkelly@sname.org


            Doug_Kelly.jpeg
            Responsibilities:
            • Editor of mt Magazine

            Monica Neira, Advertising and Sales
            Phone: 212-224-9611
            Email: mneira@sname.org


            Responsibilities:
            • Advertising and Sales


            Deryck White
            Marketing and Communications Manager

            Phone: 703-997-6711
            Email: dwhite@sname.org

            Deryck_White