The Vice Admiral Emory S. "Jerry" Land Medal

The Vice Admiral Emory S. "Jerry" Land Medal

The Vice Admiral Emory S. "Jerry" Land Medal, USN, was established by the Executive Committee in 1952.


The following rules govern:

a. The award will be for "Outstanding Accomplishment in the Marine Field."
b. The title will be "The Vice Admiral ‘Jerry’ Land Medal."
c. The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze, hexagonal in shape, measuring 2 1/2inches (6.25 cm) from the top to bottom across the points of the hexagon, the obverse side showing a likeness of Admiral Land and the reverse side carrying an inscription of the award.
d. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society.
e. The proposal for award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing.
f. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society.
g. The nomination by the Committee and the final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council.
h. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange.
i. The medal may be awarded annually but not more often.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient
1952 Emory Scott Land
1953 H. Gerrish Smith
1954 John B. Woodward, Jr.
1955 Walter L. Green
1956 John M. Franklin
1957 Arthur B. Homer
1958 William E. Blewett, Jr.
1959 Richard L. Burke
1960 John M. Willis
1961 Solon B. Turman
1962 Monro B. Lanier
1963 Wilbur N. Landers
1964 Richard Lowery
1965 Albert G. Mumma
1966 John T. Gilbride
1967 James J. Henry
1968 Donald A. Holden
1969 Ralph K. James
1970 Andrew Neilson
1971 Daniel D. Strohmeier
1972 Andrew E. Gibson
1973 James F. Goodrich
1974 Helen Delich Bentley
1975 John V. Banks*
1976 Robert J. Blackwell
1977 E. Scott Dillon
1978 William M. Benkert
1979 A. Dudley Haff
1980 P. Takis Veliotis
1981 Ellsworth L. Peterson
1982 Robert I. Price
1983 Edwin Murray Hood
1984 Lester Rosenblatt
1985 Thomas B. Crowley
1986 C.L. French
1987 Leslie A. Harlander
1988 Stanley G. Stiansen
1989 Ronald K. Kiss
1990 J. William Kime
1991 Robert G. Mende
1992 Edward J. Campbell
1993 Perry W. Nelson
1994 Norman W. Lemley
1995 Arthur J. Haskell
1996 Robert W. Schaffran
1997 James C. Card
1998 David A. O'Neil
1999 William A. O'Neil
2000 Charles R. Cushing
2001 William duBarry Thomas
2002 Willaim O. Gray
2003 Richard H. Vortmann
2004 Robert E. Kramek
2005 Thomas P. Mackey
2006 Peter G. Noble
2007 Bruce S. Rosenblatt
2008 Robert D. Tagg
2009 Robert D. Somerville 
2010 Joseph J. Cuneo
2011 Stephen M. Payne
2012  Frederick J. Harris
2013 Christopher J. Wiernicki