The Rear Admiral David W. Taylor

The Rear Admiral David W. Taylor, USN, Medal was established by the Executive Committee in 1935 and was first awarded in 1936.

The following rules govern:
a. The award will be for "Notable Achievement in Naval Architecture and/or Marine Engineering."
b. The title will be "The David W. Taylor Medal."
c. The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze approximately 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) in diameter, one side to show likeness of Admiral Taylor, the other side to show an inscription of award.
d. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society.
e. The proposal for award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing.
f. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society.
g. The nomination by the Committee and final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council.
h. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange.
i. The medal may be awarded annually but not more often.

Past Recipients

1936 David Watson Taylor*
1938 W.L.R. Emmet*
1939 Hugo P. Frear*
1940 John F. Metten*
1942 Samuel M. Robinson*
1943 William Hovgaard*
1945 Edward L. Cochrane*
1946 William Francis Gibbs*
1947 David Arnott*
1948 Earle W. Mills*
1949 George G. Sharp*
1950 Harold E. Saunders*
1951 C. Richard Waller*
1953 John E. Burkhardt*
1954 Edwin L. Stewart*
1955 Kenneth S.M. Davidson*
1956 Andrew I. McKee*
1957 David P. Brown*
1958 John C. Niedermair*
1959 Olin J. Stephens, II*
1960 Glenn B. Warren*
1961 Mark L. Ireland, Jr.*
1962 Charles D. Wheelock*
1963 Arthur D. Gatewood*
1964 Henry A. Schade*
1965 John P. Comstock*
1966 Richard B. Couch*
1967 Wilson D. Leggett, Jr.*
1968 Matthew G. Forrest*
1969 Douglas C. MacMillan*
1970 Ludwig C. Hoffmann*
1971 Phillip Eisenberg*
1972 John R. Kane*
1973 Jerome L. Goldman
1974 Roger E.M. Brard*
1975 James B. Robertson, Jr.*
1976 Harry Benford
1977 James J. Henry*
1978 John J. Nachtsheim*
1979 Philip F. Spaulding*
1980 Peter M. Palermo*
1981 ERwin Carl Rohde*
1982 Jacques B. Hadler
1983 Jens T. Holm*
1984 Jan D. Van Manen*
1985 J. Randolph Paulling, Jr.
1986 Robert N. Herbert*
1987 John B. Caldwell
1988 Lawrence R. Glosten*
1989 Clark Graham
1990 Lorenzo Spinelli
1991 Douglas Faulkner*
1992 Justin E. Kerwin
1993 Harry A. Jackson*
1994 Robert P. Giblon*
1995 John W. Boylston
1996 Roy L. Harrington
1997 George R. Knight, Jr.
1998 Thomas S. Winslow
1999 Robert J. Scott
2000 Thomas G. Lang
2001 Peter A. Gale
2002 R. Keith Michel
2003 Robert G. Keane, Jr.
2004 Donald Liu
2005 Robert G. Allan
2006 Edward N. Comstock
2007 Hans G. Payer
2008 Bruce L. Hutchison
2009  Joseph P. Fischer 
2010 Peter Tang-Jensen
2011 Armin W. Troesch
2012 Kirsi K. Tikka
2013  Jeom Kee Paik

* deceased