The Dr. Kenneth S. M. Davidson Medal

The Dr. Kenneth S. M. Davidson Medal was established by the Executive Committee in 1959.

The following rules govern:

a. The award will be for "Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Ship Research."
b. The title will be "The Davidson Medal."
c. The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze, approximately 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) in diameter, the obverse side showing a profile of Dr. Davidson and the reverse side carrying an inscription of the award.
d. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society.
e. The proposal for this award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing.
f. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society.
g. The nomination by the Committee and the final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council.
h. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange.
i. The medal may be awarded biennially but not more often.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient
1959 Kenneth S.M. Davidson*
1961 Frank M. Lewis*
1963 Karl E. Schoenherr*
1965 Edward V. Lewis*
1967 Frederick H. Todd*
1970 B.V. Korvin-Kroukovsky*
1972 Georg P. Weinblum*
1974 William E. Cummins*
1976 J. Harvey Evans*
1978 Louis Landweber*
1980 Manley St. Denis*
1982 John P. Breslin
1984 John V. Wehausen*
1986 William B. Morgan
1988 J. Nicholas Newman
1990 John F. Dalzell*
1992 William C. Webster
1994 Michael K. Ochi
1996 Daniel Savitsky
1998 Alaa E. Mansour
2000 Robert F. Beck
2002 Nils Salvesen
2004 Ronald W. Yeung
2006 Preben T. Pedersen
2008 Stuart D. Jessup
2010 Aposotolos D. Papanikolaou
2012 Arthur M. Reed