William M. Kennedy Award

Outstanding Service and Contribution in the Development of Systems and Planning Applying to Shipbuilding and Ship Repair

The 2018 William M. Kennedy Award

Paul J. AlbertPaul J. Albert

Paul Albert is the retired President and CEO at VT Halter Marine. He joined Halter Marine in 2000 as VP of Production, promoted to Senior VP of Production in 2003, appointed Chief Operating Officer in 2009 and President and CEO in 2016. Retired with 46 years’ experience in commercial and U.S. Navy ship design and construction.
Prior to joining Halter Marine, Mr. Albert was Director of Steel Fabrication and Unit Assembly at Avondale Shipyards. Subsequently, held various positions of increased responsibility including Production Manager, Engineering Section Manager, Design Manager Inside Machinery Spaces and Piping Design Group Supervisor.

Additional positions previously held by Mr. Albert:
McDermott International – Division Manager of McDermott’s TNG shipyard located in Veracruz, Mexico; Operations Manager at the Morgan City and New Iberia shipyard and fabrication facilities. Overall management responsibility for Engineering, Planning and Scheduling, Procurement and Production departments.
Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock Company – design engineer – system design of shipboard piping systems for U.S. Navy surface ships and submarines.

Mr. Albert served as Chairman of the National Shipbuilding Research Program (NSRP) and was an Executive Control Board member from 2003 until 2014. He is also a member of the American Bureau of Shipping. Since retirement in 2017, established Albert Marine Consultants LLC in Mobile, Al. and is senior partner providing consulting services to the maritime industry.

Established by the Executive Committee in 1980 in accordance with the terms of his will

The award will be for "Outstanding Service and Contribution in the Development of Systems and Planning Applying to Shipbuilding and Ship Repair." The title will be "The William M. Kennedy Award." The award consists of a certificate suitably framed plus one thousand dollars. Eligibility for the award need not be limited to membership in SNAME. The proposal for this award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. Announcement and presentation of the award will be made at the Ship Production Symposium or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The award may be made annually but not more often.

Medals and Awards Nomination Form

Kennedy Recipients

2018 Paul J. Albert
2017 James F. Hughes
2016 Harvey B. Walpert
2015 Dennis Fanguy
2014 Albert L. Bossier, Jr.
2013 Arthur W. Divens
2012 Richard Self
2011 W. David Whiddon
2010 Richard Lee Storch
2009 Michael W. Toner
2008 Robert L. Gunter
2007 Jay P. Carson
2006 Tim Colton
2005 Arnold P. Moore
2004 John Holmander
2003 Michael W. Butler
2002 Frederick J. Harris
2001 No Recipient
2000 Janice S. Grace
1999 No Recipient
1998 No Recipient
1997 Jan R. Erickson
1996 Richard A. Goldbach
1995 W. Patrick Keene
1994 Thomas Lamb
1993 Chester L. Long*
1991 W. R. (Pat) Phillips, Jr.
1990 Mark S. O’Hare
1989 Donald W. Challinor*
1988 Raymond Pearlson
1987 Ralph Anselmi
1986 Thomas C. Rosebraugh
1985 John J. Garvey
1984 Peter E. Jaquith
1983 Charles J. Starkenberg
1982 Daniel M. Mack-Forlist
1981 Louis D. Chirillo