William H. Webb Medal

Outstanding Contributions to Education in Naval Architecture, Marine or Ocean Engineering

The 2018 William H. Webb Medalist

Edwin G.Wiggins

Edwin G. Wiggins
Webb Institute

Edwin G. Wiggins received B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from Purdue University in chemical, nuclear, and mechanical engineering respectively. He served in the U.S. Navy for thirteen years.
Following his naval service Ed joined the faculty of Texas Maritime Academy, where he served as head of the marine engineering department for about three years. Next, he served on the faculty of the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy for five and a half years, including five years as head of engineering.
In July 1987 Ed joined the faculty of Webb Institute, where he continues to serve on a part-time basis. From 1987 to 1992 Ed served as Webb’s dean. During his time at Webb, Ed has been heavily involved in the accreditation of engineering programs in the U.S. and beyond.
Ed is the author of numerous professional articles, most of them having to do with the application of computer software in engineering education. The January 2015 issue of Marine Technology contains Ed’s article on the history of the NS Savannah. He served in various officer positions in the NY Metropolitan Section of SNAME and as a Regional Vice President.

Established by the Executive Committee in 1987.

The award will be for "Outstanding Contributions to Education in Naval Architecture, Marine or Ocean Engineering". "The title will be "The Webb Medal. "The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze, approximately 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) in diameter, the obverse side showing a profile of William H. Webb and the reverse side carrying an inscription of the award. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society. The proposal for this award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. The nomination by the Committee and the final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The medal may be awarded annually but not more often.

Medals and awards Nomination Form

Webb Medalists

2018      Edwin G. Wiggins

2017      Dr. Bruce Johnson

2015      Dr. Alan J. Brown

2013      Henry S. Marcus

2011      Jacques B. Hadler

2009      William S. Vorus 

2007      Roger H. Compton

2005      Robert E. Randall

2003      Michael G. Parsons

2001      Robert B. Zubaly

1999      Walter M. Maclean

1997      José Femenia

1995      Moses Hirschkowitz

1993      Howard M. Bunch

1991      Amelio M. D’Arcangelo*

1989      T. Francis Ogilvie