The David W. Taylor Medal

The 2015 Taylor Medalist

Mr. Donald L. Blount

Established by the Executive Committee in 1935 and was first awarded in 1936

The award will be for "Notable Achievement in Naval Architecture and/or Marine Engineering." The title will be "The David W. Taylor Medal." The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze approximately 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) in diameter, one side to show likeness of Admiral Taylor, the other side to show an inscription of award. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society. The proposal for award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. The nomination by the Committee and final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The medal may be awarded annually but not more often.

Taylor Medalists

2015 Donald Blount

2014 Howard Fireman

2013 Jeom Kee Paik

2012 Kirsi K. Tikka

2011 Armin W. Troesch

2010 Peter Tang-Jensen

2009 Joseph P. Fischer

2008 Bruce L. Hutchison

2007 Hans G. Payer

2006 Edward N. Comstock

2005 Robert G. Allan

2004 Donald Liu

2003 Robert G. Keane, Jr.

2002 R. Keith Michel

2001 Peter A. Gale

2000 Thomas G. Lang

1999 Robert J. Scott

1998 Thomas S. Winslow

1997 George R. Knight, Jr.

1996 Roy L. Harrington

1995 John W. Boylston

1994 Robert P. Giblon*

1993 Harry A. Jackson*

1992Justin E. Kerwin

1991 Douglas Faulkner*

1990 Lorenzo Spinelli

1989 Clark Graham

1988 Lawrence R. Glosten*

1987 John B. Caldwell

1986 Robert N. Herbert*

1985 J. Randolph Paulling, Jr.

1984 Jan D. Van Manen*

1983 Jens T. Holm*

1982 Jacques B. Hadler

1981 ERwin Carl Rohde*

1980 Peter M. Palermo*

1979 Philip F. Spaulding*

1978 John J. Nachtsheim*

1977 James J. Henry*

1976 Harry Benford

1975 James B. Robertson, Jr.*

1974 Roger E.M. Brard*

1973 Jerome L. Goldman

1972 John R. Kane*

1971 Phillip Eisenberg*

1970 Ludwig C. Hoffmann*

1969 Douglas C. MacMillan*

1968 Matthew G. Forrest*

1967 Wilson D. Leggett, Jr.*

1966 Richard B. Couch*

1965 John P. Comstock*

1964 Henry A. Schade*

1963 Arthur D. Gatewood*

1962 Charles D. Wheelock*

1961 Mark L. Ireland, Jr.*

1960 Glenn B. Warren*

1959 Olin J. Stephens, II*

1958 John C. Niedermair*

1957 David P. Brown*

1956 Andrew I. McKee*

1955 Kenneth S.M. Davidson*

1954 Edwin L. Stewart*

1953 John E. Burkhardt*

1951 C. Richard Waller*

1950 Harold E. Saunders*

1949 George G. Sharp*

1948 Earle W. Mills*

1947 David Arnott*

1946 William Francis Gibbs*

1945 Edward L. Cochrane*

1943 William Hovgaard*

1942 Samuel M. Robinson*

1940 John F. Metten*

1939 Hugo P. Frear*

1938 W.L.R. Emmet*

1936 David Watson Taylor*