The Dr. Kenneth S. M. Davidson Medal

The 2014 Davidson Medalist

Professor Jorgen J. Jensen

Established by the Executive Committee in 1959

The award will be for "Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Ship Research." The title will be "The Davidson Medal." The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze, approximately 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) in diameter, the obverse side showing a profile of Dr. Davidson and the reverse side carrying an inscription of the award. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society. The proposal for this award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. The nomination by the Committee and the final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The medal may be awarded biennially but not more often.

Davidson Medalists

2014 Professor Jorgen J. Jensen

2012 Arthur M. Reed

2010 Aposotolos D. Papanikolaou

2008 Stuart D. Jessup

2006 Preben T. Pedersen

2004 Ronald W. Yeung

2002 Nils Salvesen

2000 Robert F. Beck

1998 Alaa E. Mansour

1996 Daniel Savitsky

1994 Michael K. Ochi

1992 William C. Webster

1990 John F. Dalzell*

1988 J. Nicholas Newman

1986 William B. Morgan

1984 John V. Wehausen*

1982 John P. Breslin

1980 Manley St. Denis*

1978 Louis Landweber*

1976 J. Harvey Evans*

1974 William E. Cummins*

1972 Georg P. Weinblum*

1970 B.V. Korvin-Kroukovsky*

1967 Frederick H. Todd*

1965 Edward V. Lewis*

1963 Karl E. Schoenherr*

1961 Frank M. Lewis*

1959 Kenneth S.M. Davidson*